+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Best Cam for 4.8 L for significant hp gain?

Cool Best Cam for 4.8 L for significant hp gain?

Hello guys,

I have done some reading on here and found this is the most informative site so I thought I would join !

I have a 1960 chevy shortbox where the old man and me are dropping a 4.8L in as we got a smoking deal on a 03 chevy write off.

What the best proven cam for the 4.8. without changing too too much? I'm looking to put a more aggressive cam in, and reprogram the engine when it is repinned. Any recommendations and suggestions are greatly appreciated !!! This won't be a daily driver so I'm not too concerned about hauling anything but then again I don't wanna blow up the insides.

Thanks again !

I would think something in the 220/224 575/588 with an lsa 112 would work nice. Make sure to upgrade springs and pushrods for sure. I'm no expert so maybe some more experienced members will chime in. Now before picking any cam for any engine it would be best to know what other supporting mods you are going to do. Such as stall size, gear ratio, headers and so forth. Once all that is determined you could then better determine what would be best for your particular build.

cjriojas:if you're weather man is a 5 gallon bucket, YOUUUUUUUUUUU might be a redneck
    danger_ranger83: I see now why it cost so much to get a harness made... FML
    2boostedSilverado: I like Casey's rear end, I want to chat with him about it

Smile Thanks, still seeking more info

Thanks for the advice, that link is a 5.3 not a 4.8.

I am not wanting to put a stall converter in but as i need to get the motor re-pinned i will be programming it to the specifics of the motor and the new cam i finally pick. The 4.8L will have a new cam, long tube headers and exhaust from the headers back as the 1960 will pass inspection in Canada without the cats as its a 1960.