+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Need Advice on performance tune

Ok-I am new to this computer programming. I have a '04 2500HD 6.0 and want to gain about 50-60HP, but do not want to supercharge. What additonal modifications would I need beside the tune from Nelson (87 or 93 tune??).

The truck is stock now, I plan on adding cat-back exhaust and either Air-raid or K&N kit. Will I also need to change the thermostat?

Beside being my main vehicle, I also use it for plowing snow. After adding the Nelson tune, has anyone had transmission problems or other notable issues?

I tried checking Nelson's site out, but it's not working...Maybe updating...

Thanks for any advice..Jason
    Jason Davis
    Emergency Vehicle Products
    Des Moines, Iowa

Originally posted by EVP@Aug 29 2004, 08:15 AM
    Ok-I am new to this computer programming. I have a '04 . Will I also need to change the thermostat?

They don't make 04 stats yet. I'm still looking myself. They made a
    change in 04.
    mostly stock 04 silverado 1500 CC
    Gibson Headers and Sport truck Cat Back
    5.3L 3.73 Detroit True Trac
    165F therm,HpTuner
    07 17" Sierra wheels
    Dark Grey

Just a tune is going to gain big power on a 6.0, they are very underrated! Also ditch that Torque Managment, it closes your TB blade at WOT lol I'd go for the 93, it'd cost ya $3-5 to fill up more...just skip McDonalds once a week.

Your transmission will be fine, you've got a big 4L80E unit...it's big, heavy, and strong. I would get a TransGo HD2 shift kit tossed in there at some point to firm the shifts up a bit and to help fix some of the problems the unit has. Mainly direct clutch burnup.

Lower thermo allows for a bit more timing.

Stock exhaust flows very well, so it's going to be for sound/looks...I'd look for a large case Magnaflow to keep sound down.

I have a K&N intake, it's a nice setup.
    The superior man is modest in his speech, but exceeds in his actions. - Confucius